California is the first state in America to legalize MMJ (Medicinal Marijuana). It all started in 1996 with Proposition 215, which is also called the Compassionate Use Act. In 2003, Senate Bill 420 put in place an ID card system but in 2018, it was officially declared that marijuana use is legal to all residents 21 and older.
This means that you do not have to go through the card application process to get a Medical Marijuana Card. Although many think there is no point in MMJ card application, there are still numerous benefits to it. With that in mind, here’s how to get an MMJ card in California:
Step 1: Register online
The first step is to register online. This will entail putting your email. After, you should expect to enter a virtual waiting room.
Step 2: Evaluation by the doctor
The next step involves a doctor’s evaluation. In this step, you should expect to see the doctor through the camera. Make sure you have a microphone so the doctor can hear you as well.
Step 3: Delivery
If you qualify, you will receive your recommendation letter via your email immediately. The hard copy will be given to you within 2 to 3 days. In this stage, you just have to make sure that you put your right address because the letter will be mailed to you.
Things to remember
This process usually takes around ten minutes. Although quick, you have to remember the following things:
- You will be given a seven-character patient ID code. This code is listed in the California Medical Marijuana Program. Through this, you can enter a dispensary immediately after getting the letter.
- When you enter the dispensary, you need to show the letter to the receptionist. The receptionist will then verify the number and let you in after it is confirmed.
- The recommendation letter is valid for one year so it is important to laminate your hard copy to keep it away from damages.
- Remember that California does not accept another state’s recommendation.
So what do you need to qualify for an MMIC (Medical Marijuana Identification Card)?
- According to the MMJ law, you are eligible for a card if you have medical conditions like cancer, HIV/AIDS, MS, side effects, glaucoma, arthritis, anxiety, chronic pain, multiple sclerosis, migraine headaches, chronic medical symptom, depression, and chronic fatigue syndrome.
- To apply, you need to be 18 or older. For younger patients, it must be with a Primary Caregiver. Primary Caregiver refers to the person who provides for housing, health, and safety.
Now that you know how to apply for MMIC, you should know what’s next. If you get the standard recommendation letter, you can easily enter to dispensaries without any trouble. You can choose to pay $129 for a Premium Card allowing you to avail the Grower’s recommendation card.
With this card, the law will allow you to grow 99 plants for personal use. You should be wary though because this will change anytime so it is crucial that you check your local dispensary or area for more details and always be updated with what you are allowed to grow.